Parenting Message Board

Please report abuses to AndyGill@practicalparent.org.uk

Parenting Message Board
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Losing my 13 year old daughter

Hello,

I am posting for the first time so this may be a bit long. My wife had three children with a man who later became addicted to cocain. He became abusive and she left him when her oldest child (my daughter) was only four. They have had no contact with him since. I met them when the oldest was 7. We were married when the oldest was 9. I am a High School English teacher, and my wife is a secretary.

Lately, my daughter seems sad almost all the time. I just don't know why. She won't respond to me or her mother. She doesn't have a bad life. My wife and I do everything we can (within reason) for her. She doesn't have any of the hardships some children deal with. Her mother and I do no fight, argue, or anything like that(really, it is great marriage). We are not poor, downtrodden, or disadvantaged. We have a nice home, good food on the table, and money for entertainment. We don't yell at our kids, abuse them, deprive them, or even vary often punish them (they are really good kids).

Recently, my daughter asked me to fix her computer because it wasn't working properly. While doing so, I found numerous e-mails to one particular friend of hers talking about how much her life sucks, how we just don't understand her, and how she is going to do "ne thing she wants" wether we like it or not.
The thing is, she gives no details! Why does her life suck, what's wrong?