Parenting Message Board
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: Re: Scared of the future!

HI
Thankyou for the advice.
The children are all under 7yrs old, I haven't worked for 7 yrs. Can't really go back to work now as my middle child has special needs and I am on call from the school.My partner gets involved with younger 2 children, but wont get close to my eldest.
This baby was planned and very much wanted by us all.
And yes my partner has always been going to football, but his previous wife went off with another man as he always put football first. But now he is doing it all over again, he tells me he won't do refereeing anymore, but now he put his name down again.
Don't get me wrong I love him very much, I just want some family time, rather then just me and the kids.

Re: Scared of the future!

Hi Emma,

I am just finishing making a DVD - this is not a sales answer! all about realtionships. I have ten years experience as a life coach in this area but it was amazing to learn even more making the video. One thing that came over loud and clear is the Independent/Dependent dynamic. What this means is that your partner is dissociated from his feelings [I am guessing this must be so - speaking as a bloke I can relate to that]. The reason he became independent is because he did not want to deal with all his needy feelings. Which are packed away innside him. THIS MEANS: When you are needy, when you say 'Can we talk darling?' he wants to go and be a referee even more! He will do a runner the more you corner him BECAUSE he sees in you all the horrible needy feelings he hasn't dealt with himself! And, again a guess, anyone who is a referee is almost certainly carrying around a past where there was lots of conflicts - so he has lots of heartbreaks, couldn't control the situation, felt guilty, inadequate, a failure.....and so on.