Please report abuses to AndyGill@practicalparent.org.uk

Parenting Message Board
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: 5 yr olds at school

Hi Claire,
I work in a school (nursery nurse ~ reception/Year 1 class) so understand your concern about your son. I assume you have spoken to your son about this behaviour and I am wondering what he has said. Youu must tell him that you do not approve of his behaviour and tell him why it is wrong. But also explain clearly what you expect from him when he is at school. I.e ~ listen carefully to the teacher, work hard, be friendly and look after the other children and the school property, etc.

Have there been any changes at home that he may be having trouble dealing with? I'm sorry but I have to ask because this is quite often a factor in this kind of situation. Assuming there are none, I think you need to go back to the school and agree a strategy for dealing with his behaviour, this will need to be supported both at home and school, is his teacher only noticing when his behaviour is poor? If this is the case he will be getting the message that it doesn't matter what he does he is always in trouble anyway. Myself and the teacher I work with look for 'small' positives in all children and really praise this good behaviour. It really works.

I am concerned that your teacher has labelled your son 'disruptive and lacking in concentration' he is only 5 for heavens sake! Can you go into the school to help out, then you might see for yourself what is triggering this behaviour. If you are worried about the teacher then make an appointment with the head and have a quiet word. Try not to become aggresive or judgemental, simply state your concerns openly.

Best of luck

Re: Re: 5 yr olds at school

My 5 year old is doing the same.

He was 5 in August and has become 'silly', shouting when toldto be quiet, tripping people up.

when I asked why he did this at school and not at home he replied "you tell me not to"